[En] [PDF] The Pali Vinaya

The Pali Vinaya-pitaka contains these sections:

1. Suttavibhanga: Vol IVol IIVol III

This contains the complete rules of discipline and training for monks and nuns. There are 227 rules for bhikkhus (monks) and 311 rules for bhikkhunis (nuns).

2. Khandhaka, which has two sections

This contains an account of the Buddha’s life shortly after his enlightenment as well as stories about prominent disciples. The Khandhaka also records rules for ordination and some ritual procedures.

This section discusses monastic etiquette and manners. It also contains accounts of the First and Second Buddhist Councils.

3. Parivara: PDF file

This section is a summary of the rules.

Add Comment